Posted in GARDENING, Southernisms

Today is NOT that Day

Dear Mr. Garden Guy,

I recently stumbled across the most charming blog -Living for Today.  Although written by an adoring mother, its not a sugar ‘n cupcakes mommy blog.  So don’t roll your eyes!  She explains: “This blog is about realizing, enjoying and appreciating what I can do today.”  Its about everyday moments.  Turning even mishaps (like damaging her car – twice in the same day – ouch!) into positive take-aways.  This mom’s slogan is “Someday I won’t be able to do this.  Today is NOT that day!”  Check out her blog in the link below.

I am a 48 year old wife and mother of four; Brady 20, Riley 17, Annie 14 and Josie 12.  I am also a professional photographer.  Around the age of 45 I started to notice some changes; for instance I…

 

Source: About

 

So what does this have to do with gardening?  You may ask.

Everything.

Someday I won’t be able to do my own yardwork.  Today is NOT that day!  I often covet my neighbors’ ground crews hired to maintain their lawns.  Today while I was just beginning to cut back shrubbery and ornamentals for the winter, the professionals were completing their work with such speed and precision that it seemed otherworldly.   An hour later I was still outside – wacking/mowing down weedy grass.  Typically a sweaty, achy, laborious job. I picked my turf battles carefully, doing only half the yard. Two hours was enough. I moved on to the vegetable gardens.

  • Harvested the last of the eggplants
  • Picked a few bush beans for freezing
  • Watered the lettuce
  • Tended to the medicinal  herbs – rosemary, lemon balm, cat mint
  • Inspected the broccoli patch
  • Gathered a few okra pods

I added that okra to my homemade vegetable soup.  A leafy salad made with my garden greens completed the lunch menu today.   The fruit of my labors was a delicious reward for my hard work.  This is what my suburban neighbors miss when hiring others to tend their land.  Someday I won’t be able to do my own yardwork including maintaining a vegetable garden.  Today is NOT that day!

 

Watering Can: Freeimages.com/Ronny Satzke

 

 

Author:

Hi! I'm Denise Massey - the funny face behind ArtReach at Home. My past: museum curator, art teacher and consultant. Today: a blogger sharing creativity and personal stories about life in the South.

3 thoughts on “Today is NOT that Day

Comments are closed.