Posted in HEALTH & WELLNESS, Southernisms

If It Ain’t Broke…

“You must have some symptoms.  What are your symptoms?”  My friend  pressed me.   Carolyn works in a medical research lab.  She wanted facts, statistics.  Sure I had been running a slight fever.  No.  I didn’t check my temperature.  It had been hard for me to concentrate.  No.  I can’t really account for my lack of focus.  My responses were too vague for her – as what often happens  when an artsy fartsy is besties with a research scientist.

“Oh well.  You just can’t deny science.” She said with finality.

The beginnings of an infection had showed up microscopically in the yearly lab work requested by my GYN office.   I had none of the classic symptoms of the infection peculiar to us ladies.  Nevertheless One Pill was prescribed to nip it in the bud.  Pun intended.

Days had passed since the lab work was requested.  And I was still symptom-free.  The prescription was ordered and picked up on a Friday.  I didn’t want to ruin my weekend by unnecessary suffering when I could just swallow One Pill.

At this point I wish I could tell you that medical science saved the day.  But then it wouldn’t be fodder for this post.  Shortly after taking the One Pill I became the poster child for its side effects.

capsule-1321345
Freeimages.com/Yenhoon

 

 

 

  • Disturbing Dreams
  • Agitated Sleep
  • Itchy, crawly skin
  • Excessive Thirst

And that’s for starters on Friday night.

  • Low energy
  • Taste problems
  • Generally not feeling well

Yes!  Relief Saturday morning and into Sunday

  • Muddled thinking
  • Excessive sleeping

TGI-Monday and Tuesday!

Experts say that it takes about 7 days for the One Pill to get out of your system.  Can’t wait until Friday again.  Until then, I’m drinking lots of water to flush my system out.  Yes.  Pun intended again.

LESSON LEARNED

True science, like my true friend Carolyn, will always have a place in my life.  HOWEVER I will first trust what my body is telling me.  I will give my body a chance to heal itself.  And above all –

If it ain’t broke, don’t break it!

 

Featured image credit: Freeimages.com/Jean Scheiljen

 

 

 

Author:

Hi! I'm Denise Massey - the funny face behind ArtReach at Home. My past: museum curator, art teacher and consultant. Today: a blogger sharing creativity and personal stories about life in the South.

One thought on “If It Ain’t Broke…

Comments are closed.