Posted in HEALTH & WELLNESS, Southernisms

Play? How Do I Do That?

Originally posted on That Little Voice. A great read to help rekindle your childlike sense of joy.

Boy Swinging Photo Credit: FreeImages.com/Valerie Robinson

that little voice

I know very little about playfulness, and I think it is because there are no grandchildren running around my house.

Kids, especially the ones removed from our constant supervision, open us to play. They know how to have fun without planning or structure. They are hardwired to explore,swings 6 discover, create, laugh, cry, run, experiment, question. And they drag us along with them as they make up rules, find new paths, seek answers, and delight in unexpected results.

They don’t know there might be correct ways to do things, or final answers that are wanted. They simply allow their minds and bodies to meander, accepting swings 10whatever comes along.

Recently I read a book suggesting we take an hour each week to play, by ourselves…just play. The author believed that this ‘play time’ would get our artistic juices perculating and help us be more crreative.

I failed this assignment. Try as I…

View original post 333 more words

Author:

Hi! I'm Denise Massey - the funny face behind ArtReach at Home. My past: museum curator, art teacher and consultant. Today: a blogger sharing creativity and personal stories about life in the South.