Posted in GARDENING, Southernisms

Fire Blight Blues

Dear Mr. Garden Guy,

Why didn’t you warn me about lost on the modern homestead?  Sure you often offered advice to prevent untimely death on the small hobby farm.  Backyard chickens? You said expect to lose a few to a predator like a fox or hawk.  Goats?  You warned about roaming dog packs and keeping homestead animals safe.

However, I have no livestock, unless I count the deer and squirrels.  But those critters are on their own.  I already learned that lesson.  Remember my first post?  So I didn’t expect to grieve a loss on the homestead.  I only have a couple of small vegetable gardens and one lovely fruit tree.  A wonderfully producing Bartlett Pear.  That is, I did have one until I got the Fire Blight Blues.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Of course I read your warning about Fire Blight in Georgia.

“Fire blight makes growing edible pear trees in Georgia difficult.”  You said.

“Nonsense!” I scoffed. My stepdad had an edible pear tree that the neighborhood kids used to climb the garden fence to get to.

“Stop exaggerating!”  I rolled my eyes at you.  We have a Bartlett Pear.  For years we’ve enjoyed fresh eating, preserves, jams and canned pears from its production.  Because of its abundance, I’ve given away bags of its fruit to neighbors and friends.

Wait.  Did you say growing edible pear trees in Georgia is difficult not impossible?  Oh.  My bad.  You were so right Mr. Garden Guy.

I’m afraid I’m losing my pear tree.  I’ve followed your advice to prune back diseased limbs, dipping pruners repeatedly in chlorine solution.  I’ve attempted to spray homemade fungicide onto my tree.  But alas you say even this is “not practical for home gardeners to spray larger trees to be able to get good coverage.”

I’ve got the Fire Blight Blues.  Are the good times really gone  Mr. Garden Guy?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author:

Hi! I'm Denise Massey - the funny face behind ArtReach at Home. My past: museum curator, art teacher and consultant. Today: a blogger sharing creativity and personal stories about life in the South.

One thought on “Fire Blight Blues

Comments are closed.